About

Who We Are

Who are we – Our Vision

St Barnabas is a Church of England church in Middlesbrough. We have four key values.

Bible-based

Christ-centred

Transformational

Servant-hearted


And, flowing from these values, we have five priorities:

Worship

Blessing those aged 0 to 25

Blessing Middlesbrough with the compassion of Christ

Blessing people with the good news of Jesus

Blessing all church members

As a church, St Barnabas has been engaged in a process called ‘Immeasurably More’, (rooted in Ephesians 3:20). By this we’ve been seeking what we believe God is calling us to in the next three years. And the result is what’s called a Mission Action Plan, a ‘MAP’. 



The plans contain big hopes and big challenges. As you read them, you may think, ‘Can we do it?’ And the answer is ‘No’. But do we serve a God who can produce treasure from us, frail as we are? ‘Yes’!

The Wider Church

St Barnabas is part of the Church of England, which is part of the worldwide Anglican Communion. Rooted in scripture, the Church of England seeks to share the good news of Jesus by word and deed across England. It has over 16 000 churches and is always seeking fresh ways to live out the gospel. The Church of England is divided into 42 areas (called ‘dioceses’). St Barnabas is part of the Diocese of York, led by Archbishop Stephen Cottrell and Bishops Paul Ferguson, Alison White and John Thompson. St Barnabas has strong links with the many other churches on Teesside, particularly through the organisation Transforming Teesside Together

Leadership and Other Staff

Meet the Team

David Goodhew

Vicar david@st-barnabas.net

Lindsey Goodhew

Associate Vicar lindsey@st-barnabas.net

Mark Walley

Curate mark@st-barnabas.net

Barbara Edwards

Administrator barbara@st-barnabas.net

Seb Rab

Worship Leader seb@st-barnabas.net

Hazel Murray

Student Worker hazel@st-barnabas.net

Phil Hale

Media Worker phil@st-barnabas.net

John Ravalde

Reader

Ken Whiteway

Reader

Hope

Belief

Direction

Parochial Church Council

St Barnabas is governed by its 'PCC' (which stands for 'Parochial Church Council'). The PCC is elected by church members to work with the church leadership to take forward the mission of the church in this place.

Find Out More

We're out in the community

St Barnabas Church has worked to bless Middlesbrough for well over 100 years.. You can find out about its history below and that work continues. Have a look at our 'What's On' page to see what the church is getting up to right now.

Our History